The 2019 Model School Attendance Review Board (SARB) Recognition Program, sponsored by the California Department of Education (CDE) in cooperation with the California Association of Supervisors of Child Welfare and Attendance (CASCWA), recognized 23 school attendance programs as model SARBS for efforts to improve attendance and reduce dropout rates.

This program identifies and recognizes school attendance improvement programs that review chronic absentee data at the district or county level—outstanding and innovative programs that will serve as models for other SARBs in the state. For more information on effective practices, see the 2015 SARB Handbook.

The model SARBs, along with their chairpersons, who can act as mentors for other SARBs in the state are:

  • Alhambra Unified School District, Lindsey Ma, Chairperson, 626-943-3410, ma_lindsey@ausd.us

  • Alvord Unified School District, Sandy Fielding, Chairperson, 951-509-5139, sandy.fielding@alvordschools.org

  • Banning Unified School District, Dr. Janet Gray and Dr. Barbara Wolford, Chairpersons, 951-922-0200, extension 104005, jgray@banning.k12.ca.us, bwolford@banning.k12.ca.us

  • Bellflower Unified and Paramount Unified School Districts, Malcohm Heron, Chairperson, 562-866-9011, extension 7410, MalcohmHeron@BUSD.k12.CA.US

  • Corona-Norco Unified School District, Kathy Lee, Chairperson, 951-736-5093, klee@cnusd.k12.ca.us

  • Desert Sands Unified School District, Catherine Bennett, Chairperson, 760-238-9708, Catherine.Bennett@desertsands.us

  • Firebaugh-Las Deltas Unified School District, Terry Anderson, Chairperson, 559-659-3899, tanderson@fldusd.org

  • Fontana Unified School District, Craig Baker, Chairperson, 909-357-7600, extension 29087, Craig.Baker@fusd.net

  • Glendale Unified School District, Dr. Ilin Magran, Chairperson, 818-241-3111, extension 1500, imagran@gusd.net

  • Hacienda La Puente Unified School District, Cynthia Cabello, Chairperson, 626-933-4335, cgomz@hlpusd.k12.ca.us

  • Hemet Unified School District, Dennis Massey, Chairperson, 951-765-5100, extension 3700, Dmassey@hemetusd.org

  • Jurupa Unified School District, Sandra Amatriain, Chairperson, 951-360-4137, Sandra-amatriain@jusd.k12.ca.us

  • Lake Elsinore Unified School District, Dr. Steve Behar, Chairperson, 951-253-7033, steve.behar@leusd.k12.ca.us

  • Livermore Valley Joint Unified School District, Scott Vernoy, Chairperson, 925-606-3207, svernoy@lvjusd.k12.ca.us

  • Long Beach Unified School District, Dr. Erin Simon, Chairperson, 562-986-6870, extension 241, ESimon@lbschools.net

  • Los Banos Unified School District, Dan Martin, Chairperson, 209-509-5949, dmartin@losbanosusd.k12.ca.us

  • Menifee Union School District, Caroline Luke, Chairperson, 951-672-1351, cluke@menifeeusd.org

  • Perris Elementary School District, Cynthia Leon, Chairperson, 951-940-4942, ext. 3210, Cynthia.leon@perrisesd.org

  • Redondo Beach Unified School District, Hermosa City Beach School District, Manhattan Beach Unified School District, and El Segundo Unified School District, Anthony Bridi, Chairperson, 310-798-8690, abridi@rbusd.org

  • Rialto Unified School District, Adam Waggoner, Chairperson, 909-873-4336, extension 2381, awaggone@rialto.k12.ca.us

  • Romoland School District, Ricky Alyassi, Chairperson, 951-926-9244, extension 1221, ralyassi@romoland.net

  • Santa Ana Unified School District, Gaudencio Marquez, Chairperson, 714-433-3476, gaudencio.marquez@sausd.us

  • Vacaville Unified School District, Ramiro Barron, Chairperson, 707-453-7126, extension 225, RamiroB@vacavilleusd.org

Awards were presented to the 23 successful Model SARB Recognition Program applicants at the annual CASCWA State Conference on April 19 in Napa, California.