Sources on School Attendance

  • Attendance Works: Executive Director Hedy Chang, can discuss national trends and research on school attendance, as well as state and local strategies for reducing chronic absence. Contact her at hedy@attendanceworks.org or Catherine Cooney, at 202-487-0048 or catherine@attendanceworks.org to set up an interview. They can also put you in touch with relevant contacts in a variety of localities and states.

  • Bob Balfanz, director of the Everyone Graduates Center, can talk about how absenteeism influences graduation rates, as well as about how attendance monitoring has helped improve achievement in Diplomas Now schools. Contact Amanda D. Martorana at martorana@jhu.edu for questions about national research and Angie Cannon at angie@thehatchergroup.com for questions about Diplomas Now.

  • The Campaign for Grade-Level Reading can talk about how chronic absence can affect a child’s change of reading proficiently by the end of third grade. Contact Ernestine Benedict at ebenedict@gradelevelreading.net to set up an interview.

  • Faith Connolly, executive director of the Baltimore Education Research Consortium, can talk about how poor attendance in the first month of school predicts chronic absence for the entire year. Contact her at fconnolly@jhu.edu.

  • Terra Gay, director of education programs at Points of Light, can talk about the Corps 18 program that uses VISTA workers to promote solutions to chronic absence. Contact her at tgay@pointsoflight.org.

  • Alan Ginsburg, a researcher who has analyzed NAEP scores, can talk about the connection between attendance and standardized test scores. Contact him at 202-966-0946 or alandayle@comcast.net.

  • Healthy Schools Campaign can speak about the connection between attendance and health concerns. For more information, contact Alex Mays at jeremy@healthyschoolscampaign.org.

  • Kim Nauer, education policy director at the Center for New York City Affairs at The New School, can talk about research connecting chronic absence and poverty. Contact her at 646-942-8414 or nauerk@newschool.edu.

  • Michael Gottfried, a researcher at the University of California, Santa Barbara, can talk about how attendance influences the development of socioemotional skills and the connection between preschool and kindergarten attendance. Contact him at 323-387-8039 or mgottfried@education.ucsb.edu.

  • Jane Quinn at the Children’s Aid Society can talk about New York City’s Success Mentors program, which improved attendance for chronically absent students. Contact Jane at janeq@childrensaidsociety.org.

  • Tina Chong, vice president, communications at City Year, can provide examples of how City Year AmeriCorps members are helping to reduce chronic absenteeism through tutoring and near-peer mentoring. Contact Tina at 857-305-1602 or tchong@cityyear.org

  • Raegen Miller, research director at FutureEd at Georgetown University, can talk about which states have adopted chronic absence as an accountability metric under the Every Student Succeeds Act. Contact him at rmiller@future-ed.org

  • Stacy Ehrlich, managing director and senior research scientist at the UChicago Consortium, can talk about the reasons for and impacts of absenteeism in preschool and the early grades. Contact Stacy at sehrlich@uchicago.edu

     

Did you know these 10 Facts About School Attendance?