The 2016–17 Model School Attendance Review Board (SARB) Recognition Program, sponsored by the California Department of Education (CDE) in cooperation with the California Association of Supervisors of Child Welfare and Attendance (CASCWA), recognized 27 school attendance programs as model SARBS for efforts to improve attendance and reduce dropout rates.

This program identifies and recognizes school attendance improvement programs that review chronic absentee data at the district or county level—outstanding and innovative programs that will serve as models for other SARBs in the state. For more information on effective practices, see the 2015 SARB Handbook.

The model SARBs, along with their chairpersons, who can act as mentors for other SARBs in the state are:

  1. Alhambra Unified School District, Lindsey K. Ma, Lynne Sheffield, SARB Chairpersons,, 626-943-3440
  2. Alvord Unified School District, Charles Cummins, SARB Chairperson, 951-509-5143,
  3. Banning Unified School District, Janet A. Gray, SARB Chairperson, 951-922-0200,
  4. Capistrano Unified School District, Chad Smith, SARB Chairperson, 714-966-4000,
  5. Centinela Valley Union High School District, Blain L. Watson, SARB Chairperson, 310-263-3200,
  6. Chino Valley Unified School District, Ofelia Marques Verdugo, SARB Chairperson, 909-628-1201, extension 7763,
  7. Colton Joint Unified School District, Christy Padilla,SARB Chairperson, 909-580-6518,
  8. Corona-Norco Unified School District, Felicia Cruz-Delgado, SARB Chairperson, 951-736-5000,
  9. Desert Sands Unified School District, Cathy Bennett, SARB Chairperson, 760-238-9708,
  10. Escondido Union School District, Maria Osborn, SARB Chairperson, 760-432-2369,
  11. Fairfield-Suisun Unified School District, Antonio Gipson, SARB Chairperson, 707-399-4325,
  12. Firebaugh-Las Deltas Unified School District, Terry R. Anderson, SARB Chairperson, 559-659-3899, extension 6512,
  13. Fontana Unified School District, Craig Baker, SARB Chairperson, 909-357-7600,
  14. Fremont Unified School District, Dennie Marenco, Fremont Unified School District,510-657-2350, extension 12367,
  15. Hacienda La Puente Unified School District, Cynthia Cabello, SARB Chairperson, 626-933-4307,
  16. Hemet Unified School District, Dennis G. Massey, SARB Chairperson, 951-765-5100,
  17. John Swett Unified School District, Ken Nelson, SARB Chairperson, 925-768-3724,
  18. Jurupa Unified School District, Sandra Amatriain, SARB Chairperson, 951-360-4137,
  19. Long Beach Unified School District, Erin M. Simon, SARB Chairperson, 562-986-6870, extension 241,
  20. Pittsburg Unified School District, ReJois Frazier-Myers, SARB Chairperson, 925-473-2346,
  21. Rialto Unified School District, Leonard Buckner, SARB Chairperson, 909-820-7700, extension 2352,
  22. Riverside Unified School District, Gary McGuire, SARB Chairperson, 951-352-1200, extension 83030,
  23. Romoland School District, Ricky Alyassi, SARB Chairperson, 951-926-9244,
  24. Sanger Unified School District, Dennis Wiechmann, SARB Chairperson, 559-351-1408,
  25. Santa Ana Unifies School District, Patrick D. Yrarrazaval-Correa, SARB Chairperson, 714-433-3458,
  26. Twin Rivers Unified School District, Jane Claar, Tracy Wiltshire, SARB Chairpersons, 916-566-1600, extensions 50852 and 50854, and
  27. Westminster School District, Patricia Urbaniec, SARB Chairperson, 714-894-7311, extension 1100,

Awards will be presented to successful Model SARB Recognition Program applicants at the annual CASCWA State Conference on April 19, 2017, in Tahoe City, California.